Ban on the use of fireworks in the City of Helsinki area

Publication date 27.12.2023 8.52 | Published in English on 28.12.2023 at 8.35
Press release
A firefighter extinguishes a car fire.
Fireworks may not be used in certain areas of Helsinki.

The use of fireworks is banned in Helsinki between New Year's Eve and Day at 18.00-02.00 in the certain areas.

The use of fireworks is banned in Helsinki between New Year's Eve and Day at 18.00-02.00 in the following areas:

  1. Helsinki city centre area, which includes the following street areas: Yliopistonkatu – Mikonkatu – Central Railway Station area – Asema-aukio – Elielinaukio – Töölönlahdenkatu – Töölönlahti Park – Makasiinipuisto – Kansalaistori – Mannerheiminaukio – Paasikivenaukio – Salomonkatu – Narinkkatori – Simonkatu – Mannerheimintie – Erottaja – Eteläesplanadi – Market Square – Mariankatu –Aleksanterinkatu – Senate Square
  2. Oulunkylä Shopping Centre
  3. Ylä-Malmi Market Square
  4. Pihlajamäki Shopping Centre
  5. Ala-Malmi Market Square
  6. Töölöntori
  7. Old Church Park (so-called Ruttopuisto)
  8. Maatullinaukio
  9. Kontula shopping centre
  10. Itäkeskus Shopping Centre and Tallinnanaukio
  11. Helsinki Market Hall background area, including the parking area
  12. Sinebrychoff Park Area
  13. Kaisaniemi and Kaivopuisto park areas
  14. Kannelmäki Sitratori, Youth Centre and Kannelmäki station areas
  15. Malminkartano Square and Malminkartano station areas
  16. Vaasanaukio
  17. Hakaniemi Market Square and Ympyrätalo

The ban is based on the rescue director's decision (in Finnish). You can also find the banned areas on the map (in Finnish). The banned areas are valid until further notice.

The purpose of banning the use of fireworks in designated areas is to improve the overall safety of people gathering in the area and to reduce damage to people, buildings and other property. The aim is also to reduce the disturbances caused by fireworks, such as noise, smoke and garbage, thereby improving general comfort and cleanliness.



The latest