Skip to Content

The Board of the Rescue Department is responsible for the tasks laid down in the Rescue Act within the Western Uusimaa region. As of 1 January 2013, the region has comprised the following 10 municipalities: Espoo, Hanko, Lohja, Ingå, Siuntio, Karkkila, Kauniainen, Kirkkonummi, Raseborg and Vihti.

The Board has 10 members and each member has a personal deputy member. 

The Board of the Rescue Department decides on the standard of service of the Länsi-Uusimaa Rescue Services. More information on the tasks of the Board can be found on the website.

In accordance with section 24 of the Rescue Act, municipalities are jointly responsible for rescue services in rescue service regions (regional rescue services) determined by the Government. For this purpose, the municipalities in the Länsi-Uusimaa Rescue Services region (Espoo, Hanko, Ingå, Karkkila, Kauniainen, Kirkkonummi, Lohja, Raseborg, Siuntio and Vihti) have, based on a cooperation agreement, established the Länsi-Uusimaa Rescue Department, which operates as part of the City of Espoo. The Länsi-Uusimaa Rescue Department is a non-profit municipal enterprise as referred to in section 65 of the Local Government Act.

Further information

CEO of Rescue Services

Situation Centre, tel. 029 151 2112


Give feedback